Why Yogi picked stronghold Gorakhpur over Ayodhya | What BJP’s 1st list tells us

Published on Jan 15, 2022 08:36 PM IST

It’s official. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is set to contest the Assembly election from the Gorakhpur (Urban) seat. The seat is Yogi Adityanath’s stronghold and voted him to the Lok Sabha for five straight terms till 2017. The BJP’s announcement was made amidst speculation that Yogi Adityanath may contest his maiden assembly election from one of the two temple towns – Ayodhya or Mathura. So what tilted the scales in favour of Gorakhpur for the incumbent chief minister?


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *